Disease Group


Disease Group Profile

ACCRU serves investigators with innovative ideas that have the potential to raise the standard of care for patients with varying types of myeloma. This includes, among others, Light Chain Myeloma, Non-secretory Myeloma, Solitary Plasmacytoma, Extramedullary Plasmacytoma, and Smoldering Multiple Myeloma (SMM).

Disease Group Leaders

Shaji Kumar, M.D.

Mayo Clinic Rochester

Shaji Kumar, M.D. is a Consultant in Hematology at Mayo Clinic in Rochester and is the chair of the myeloma disease group at Mayo Clinic. His research focuses on developing new therapies for myeloma and related plasma cell disorders and is the PI of several phase I, II, and III clinic trials.

Sarah Holstein, M.D.

University of Nebraska Medical Center

Sarah Holstein, M.D. is the Team Leader of the Myeloma/Plasma Cell Dyscrasia Group at the University of Nebraska Medical Center. She is a physician scientist whose research spans the clinical-translational spectrum.

Peter Voorhees, M.D.

Levine Cancer Institute

Peter Voorhees, M.D. is the Chief of the Plasma Cell Disorders Division and Vice Chair of the Department of Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders at Levine Cancer Institute. He is also a Vice Chair for the Alliance Multiple Myeloma Committee. He is an experienced clinical investigator and has published extensively in the area of multiple myeloma.

Disease Group Clinical Trials