Breast Cancer

Disease Group

Breast Cancer

Disease Group Profile

The ACCRU breast cancer disease group is co-led by Dr. Matthew Goetz and Dr. Dan Flora. Dr. Goetz is a consultant in the Division of Medical Oncology, Department of Oncology, at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota and holds the academic rank of Professor of Oncology and Pharmacology, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science where he is the Erivan K. Haub Family Professor in Cancer Research Honoring Richard F. Emslander, M.D. Dr. Goetz leads breast cancer research at Mayo Clinic where he is co-chair of the Mayo Breast Cancer Disease Group, co-leader of the Women’s Cancer Program within the Mayo Clinic Cancer Center, and Director of the Mayo Breast Cancer SPORE. Dr. Goetz has been extensively involved in both translational research as well as in the conduct of early- and late-phase clinical trials, with a focus on the development of new endocrine approaches for the treatment of ER+/HER2 negative breast cancer. In addition to his clinical and research roles, Dr. Goetz is active in professional organizations. He currently serves on the steering committees for the NCI Breast Cancer Steering Committee, the Translational Breast Cancer Research Consortium, and the Early Breast Cancer Trialists’ Collaborative Group.

The ACCRU Breast Cancer Disease group is made up of academic and community breast cancer leaders from across the U.S. and the overall goal of the ACCRU Breast Disease group is to develop novel investigator initiated and industry trials with the goal of reducing the morbidity and mortality from breast cancer.

Currently, the ACCRU Breast Disease group has ongoing DOD sponsored clinical trials testing new vaccine approaches for the adjuvant treatment of TNBC and HER2+ breast cancer. Additionally trials are in development in the metastatic setting focusing on using ctDNA approaches to treat TNBC, as well as a new drug for the neoadjuvant treatment of premenopausal ER+HER2 negative breast cancer (Z-endoxifen).

Disease Group Leaders

Matthew Goetz, M.D.

ACCRU Vice-ChairMayo Clinic Rochester

Matthew Goetz, M.D. has been an ACCRU member since 2011 where he co-leads the ACCRU Breast Disease Group along with Dr. Dan Flora. Dr. Goetz was recently appointed as ACCRU Vice-Chair and he is a member of the ACCRU Executive Committee where he is responsible for strategic planning and oversight for the scientific activities of ACCRU.

Daniel Flora, M.D., Pharm D

Saint Elizabeth Hospital

Daniel Flora, M.D. is a Medical Oncologist at St. Elizabeth Healthcare in Kentucky. With a background in pharmacology, Dr. Flora has a special interest in “personalized medicine,” in which each individual’s treatment plan is developed to minimize toxicity. He is currently leading the St. Elizabeth Oncology research team as principal investigator for multiple clinical trials. Many of these studies are exploring alternatives to chemotherapy, such as targeted or immune therapies. Dr. Flora is the recipient of the Arnold P. Gold Humanism in Medicine Award and the Cancer Family Care Unsung Heroes Award.

Disease Group Clinical Trials