Executive Committee

ACCRU Leadership

Executive Committee

Our Executive Committee sets the vision and strategy for ACCRU as we aspire to improve the lives of our patients with innovative clinical trials. This includes developing and recommending strategic plans and policies for administrative and scientific activities to submit to the Board of Directors. The work of the Executive Committee also includes facilitating the implementation of all strategic plans for development of ACCRU’s scientific portfolio of clinical research, including selection of Disease Group leaders and coordination of all clinical research support services. The Executive Committee also oversees daily operations and scientific activities to support the development and conduct of ACCRU clinical trials.

Tanios Bekaii-Saab, M.D.

ACCRU Chair, Board of Directors ChairMayo Clinic Arizona

Tanios Bekaii-Saab, M.D. is a medical oncologist focusing on the treatment of gastrointestinal malignancies. He is the leader of the gastrointestinal cancer program for the Mayo Clinic Enterprise Cancer Center. Dr. Bekaii-Saab has served on various committees for ACCRU since 2012. He currently serves as the Consortium and Board of Director Chair for ACCRU.

Matthew Goetz, M.D.

ACCRU Vice-ChairMayo Clinic Rochester

Matthew Goetz, M.D. has been an ACCRU member since 2011 where he co-leads the ACCRU Breast Disease Group along with Dr. Dan Flora. Dr. Goetz was recently appointed as ACCRU Vice-Chair and he is a member of the ACCRU Executive Committee where he is responsible for strategic planning and oversight for the scientific activities of ACCRU.

Charles Loprinzi, M.D.

Symptom Control Program Lead

Charles Loprinzi, M.D. coordinates the ACCRU cancer control program and is the only leadership person that has been with ACCRU since it was initiated. His primary research focus deals with symptom control trials which he defines as trials aimed at trying to prevent and/or treat and/or better understand symptoms caused by cancer and/or cancer treatment.

Steven Alberts, M.D.

Solid Tumor Program Lead

Steven Alberts, M.D. has a long history of involvement in clinical trial development and conduct, ranging from early phase trials to phase III trials. He brings this experience to ACCRU with a focus in GI cancers to help sustain and progressively build a dynamic portfolio of trials relevant to patients and their current needs.

Fang-Shu Ou, Ph.D.

Group Statistician

Fang-Shu Ou, Ph.D. is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Quantitative Health Sciences at Mayo Clinic. She is a faculty statistician that leads a team of biostatisticians and statistical programmers in support of ACCRU’s investigator-initiated clinical trials. Her disease focus is in gastrointestinal malignancies.

Mine Cicek, Ph.D.

Biospecimen Director

Mine Cicek, Ph.D. directs a laboratory that provides a full range of biospecimens services for ACCRU to manage the translational component of clinical research conducted in clinical trials to improve cancer care.

Megan Jordahl, MS

Chief Operations Officer

Megan Jordahl, MS has been with ACCRU since January 2015 serving in various roles. Megan has a Master of Science degree in Project Management and a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration and Human Resource Management. Megan enjoys working with ACCRU because of the endless possibilities that arise from the collaboration between members to provide the best care for patients.

Jian L. Campian, M.D., Ph.D.

Principal Investigator

Jian L. Campian, MD, PhD, is a medical neuro-oncologist with a long-standing interest in developing novel immunotherapeutic approaches to treat brain tumors. She has been very active and successful in developing and executing investigator-initiated clinical trials and collaborating within the industry. She brings this expertise to ACCRU, with a special focus in CNS malignancies to help develop novel approaches to meet patients’ needs.